Advent of Code 2021 [PL Edition]

Last year‘s AoC was mostly Haskell. For this year’s AoC, I decided to try a different Programming Language for each puzzle – thus the PL edition!

In total, I used 20 different languages, for puzzles 1 through 10. Here’s a quick summary of what every language felt like.

  • Loved Lua; felt so close to Python, yet much simpler. Tables all the way!
  • Coq and Dafny were cool, though I had to do some hacks # # for both due to lack of IO support. Check Idris though, similar type power but has IO support!
    • Also, if Idris sounds fun, check out my book on it!
  • OCaml was cool, felt similar to Coq but less stricter than it. Also, pretty close to F#.
  • Amazed by Nasm‘s powerful macro system, assembly brought memories from high school. Pascal brought memories from high school as well.
  • (La)TeX is turing complete!
  • Had some fun with shell scripting and SQL.
  • It doesn’t count if PHP or JavaScript aren’t there.
  • Haskell is always fun. Lisp too.
  • The usual “class”y C#/Java.
  • Haven’t done either of C/C++ in ages, felt neat. That C++ code would’ve looked much better if I used something like boost.

All in all, definitely enjoyed the different energy from each language while I was coding in it.

That’s all with experimenting on this year’s AoC. I still might solve the remaining puzzles but if I do, it’ll be in some of the languages on that list πŸ™‚

I wish you a merry Christmas and a happy new year! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Advent of Code 2021 [PL Edition]

Leave a comment